Well what do you know. It’s a rare Friday edition of Pick Your Poison. I feel like the last couple Fridays that I’ve done this I’ve commented on how it only happens rarely because I don’t have enough music to give you to make a Friday edition worthwhile most of the time. On those occasions when I do meet the quota, there are Friday editions. This is one of those weeks, and it’s even better because it marks the start of a holiday weekend. If you’re American and reading this, Labor Day is on Monday so I hope you enjoy a day off and have some BBQ or whatever. There won’t be a Monday edition of Pick Your Poison due to the holiday, but I am going to try and take some time out of that free day to write at least one album review for next week. I’ve been slacking way too much in that department lately, and there’s way too many great records out there for me to keep ignoring them or writing about them only in 140 character spurts on Twitter. So we’ll see what I’m able to get done. Now then, about this weekend-starting Pick Your Poison. Allow me to advise listening to tracks from Deep Well, Infinity Shred, Karen O, Los Campesinos!, The Octopus Project, The Shilohs and Zachary Cale. In the Soundcloud section after the jump, stream songs from The 1975, The Band in Heaven, Breathe Owl Breathe, Death Cab For Cutie, Frankie Rose and Tony Molina. Have a great extended weekend, and we’ll catch up on Tuesday!

12 dirty lovers – It Seems to Be Dead

Deep Well – Never Turn Away

Dolomite Minor – Let Me Go

Frank Rabeyrolles – Fears

Infinity Shred – Sanctuary

Karen O – The Moon Song

Los Campesinos! – What Death Leaves Behind

The Morning Episodes – Alive

The Octopus Project – Perhap

The Pure Conjecture – I Just Want You to Love Me

The Shilohs – Get Ready Now

Underground Man – Bad Vibrations

Your Fuzzy Friends – The Unicorn Song

Zachary Cale – Wayward Son


The 1975 – M.O.N.E.Y.

The Band In Heaven – Farewell Summer

Breathe Owl Breathe – Silent Movie Reel

Death Cab for Cutie – Lightness (Demo)

Frankie Rose – Street of Dreams (Damned cover)

Tony Molina – Breakin Up