After detailing a pair of good shows hitting Chicago this Friday night on yesterday’s edition of Pick Your Poison, I realized I forgot to tell you about one more show that’s happening in town on Saturday night. You may have heard of Marco Benevento through a number of channels, though perhaps his most famous work has been a part of the Benevento-Russo Duo. There was also the time he became part of Trey Anastasio’s backing band during the mid-00s when Phish had temporarily broken up. But his solo work has been as equally interesting as his collaborations, highlighting his main instrument the piano with a host of other bells and whistles to move in sonic directions you might not otherwise imagine. His songs have ranged from free-form jazz infusions to post-rock soundscapes and beyond. Underneath it all there’s an overwhelming pop sensibility too, which makes a new song like “Limbs of a Pine” (ft. Kalmia Traver of Rubblebucket) that much more engaging. Anyways, Benevento is touring in support of his brand new album Tigerface that came out last week. He’ll be at Martyr’s on Saturday night at 9:30pm for a 21+ show with the Mike Dillon Band. Tickets are $12 in advance and $15 at the door. You can buy them online here. If you’re free on Saturday, this isn’t to be missed. Among the mp3s below not to be missed as part of today’s Pick Your Poison, let me recommend tracks from Dialogue From A Silent Film, Jim James’ remix of Floating Action, Freeze-Tag, Holmes, Machine Birds, Ruarri Joseph, The Standstill and Vitalic. In the Soundcloud section, you’d best stream every song listed because they’re all good.

Blind Architect – Cure Me Dementia

Boy Friends Club – Drip Tropical

Candy Bars – Violets

Dialogue From A Silent Film – Carbon Monoxide

Floating Action – Not What I Came For (Jim James Remix)

Frank Rabeyrolles – Listening to Tago Mago (Lockhart Remix)

Freddy Hall – Train Wreck

Freeze-Tag – Eskimo

Holmes – Caught on Fire

Khalid Quesada – Radio Silence

Machine Birds – If I

Mark Mallman – Double Silhouette

.message – Murky Pash

OLGWI – Rusty Kind of Soul

Ruarri Joseph – Anyway

Souldrop – Your Love (Unmastered)

The Standstill – Endless Winter

Stumbleine – Fade Into You (Mazzy Star cover ft. Steffaloo)

Vitalic – No More Sleep


The Coathangers – Merry Go Round

Dead Can Dance – Opium

Field Mouse – How Do You Know

The Hood Internet – One For The Record Books (ft. AC Newman & Sims)

Indian Handcrafts – Terminal Horse

Levek – Girl In The Fog