I just looked at the calendar for 2012. There are THREE Friday the 13ths this year. The first of those is today. If you’re the superstitious type, today’s the day you steer clear of anything that might even look like bad luck. Ladders, black cats, mirrors and salt are just a few things to keep a close eye on (or off), for they can swing your life in some pretty wild and wrong directions should the circumstances turn bad. I’m still staying locked away inside, avoiding the world, even though the snow has stopped falling (for now). Okay, maybe I’ll go see a movie later. Probably shouldn’t do “The Devil Inside” though, what with the evil spirits/exorcism plotline factoring into the whole luck proposition. Eh, I’m not that superstitious anyways. On to today’s lucky Pick Your Poison. I’ll recommend tracks from Andrew Sisk, Field Mouse, Gabriel & The Hounds, Newtimers, Peasant, The Plimsouls and Theophilus London. In the Soundcloud section be sure to stream new stuff from Olafur Arnalds and You Won’t. Perhaps the most fascinating artifact in this entire set though is a song collaboration between Jay Farrar (Son Volt/Uncle Tupelo), Will Johnson (Centro-matic), Anders Parker (Varnaline) and Yim Yames (aka Jim James of My Morning Jacket). They’ve got a record coming out that has them turning old, unrecorded Woody Guthrie lyrics into songs. The record is called “New Multitudes” and it’ll be out at the end of February. Keep an eye out for that one, and hear the first track from their collaboration in the Soundcloud section.

Andrew Sisk – Pause

AutoReverse – Martine Hilton

Devereaux – Sassafras

Field Mouse – Glass

Frogg – Shut Tha Fuck Down! (Flosstradamus Remix)

Gabriel & The Hounds – The World Unfolds

Guy Capecelatro III – Like Anything

Morpeth FM – Rochdale Line

Newtimers – January Love

Pearl and the Beard – Bread Instead

Peasant – The Flask

The Plimsouls – Magic Touch

Theophilus London – Last Night (LVRS Anthem)

Torgny – Big Day (Plant Plants Remix)


Farrar, Johnson, Parker, Yames – Old LA

The Knocks – R.O.Y.L.

Ólafur Arnalds – Poland

Portico Quartet Ft. Cornelia – Steepless

Whistle Peak – Wings Won’t Behave

You Won’t – Ten Years Old