One of my favorite things about Turntable Kitchen’s “Sounds Delicious” series is that they convince a whole bunch of cool indie artists to record full album covers of often underappreciated classics. Artists like Death Cab for Cutie, Frankie Rose, and Pure Bathing Culture have all participated in the past, and now it’s Cults’ turn. They’ve chosen to cover the 1979 self-titled debut album from California new wave band The Motels, which seems like a good choice for them. You can get a taste of what that sounds like with their version of “Total Control” below. Speaking of covers, the Beastie Boys’ Hello Nasty turns 20 years old this week, and plenty of people are feeling nostalgic about it, including Jacuzzi Boys. Their version of “Song for the Man” is a little different from the original, as they turn it into a more energized surf rock/Beach Boys-esque summertime jam. I’ve always held an appreciation for Tokyo Police Club, a band that has spent the last decade writing bouncy, upbeat, and addictive rock songs while somehow never getting the massive fame they so richly deserve. It wouldn’t surprise me if they eventually wind up like Phoenix, Cage the Elephant, or Portugal. the Man, all of whom released a few great records with very little recognition before finally hitting it big. Will this be the one for Tokyo Police Club? Get your first dose of their next long player TPC (out Oct. 5th) with the single “Hercules”. Keep going past the jump and hear more music from artists that include Abbi Press, Cubicolor, Denzel Curry, Howard, Marquis Hawkes (ft. Jamie Lidell), RL Grime, Rubblebucket, Tony Molina, Wild Pink, and more.

Cults – Total Control (The Motels cover)

Jacuzzi Boys – Song for the Man (Beastie Boys cover)

Tokyo Police Club – Hercules

Abbi Press – Deep Breath

Cubicolor – Counterpart

Denzel Curry – Clout Cobain

Howard – Oh Dear Brother

Marquis Hawkes (ft. Jamie Lidell) – We Should Be Free

Mr Little Jeans – Forgetter (Sofi Tukker Remix)

RL Grime – Pressure

Rubblebucket – Fruity

Tony Molina – Jasper’s Theme

Wild Pink – Love Is Better