Class of 2012 crossover alert! A few months ago I told you that A$AP Rocky and Lana Del Rey were working together on a song. It was originally set to appear on a mixtape by production team KickDrums, but they decided to remove the song and save it for A$AP Rocky’s upcoming album this fall. Funny story: the song “leaked” months ago before it was pulled from the mixtape, and then this week it resurfaced with claims it was “official this time” but of course it wasn’t and got pulled down again. Somebody keeps screwing up with that track. Really what I want to talk about though is the official music video that Lana Del Rey released a couple days ago for her song “National Anthem.” It’s nearly 8 minutes long and features Del Rey as both Jackie O and Marilyn Monroe. A$AP Rocky is not on the song anywhere, but he appears in the video in the role of JFK. Don’t ask me to make sense of it, just watch it. I’m just happy that these two kids found each other. I mean, who hasn’t dated a classmate a time or two? Anyways, onto today’s Pick Your Poison. Strong lineup today, with tracks to recommend from Barbara Morgenstern, Chelsea Light Moving, CIRC, Edmund II, Giant Sand and Rainer, Oddience, Paul Banks (of Interpol), and Trick Shooter Social Club. The Soundcloud section has some great streams as well from The 1975, Dark Dark Dark, The-Drum, The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion and Fang Island, as remixed by Anamanaguchi.

Barbara Morgenstern – Spring Time

Carol Kleyn – Jethro

Chelsea Light Moving – Burroughs

CIRC – Dopy Cast

Courtship – The People Around You

Deep Forest – White Whisper (Pericles Remix)

Edmund II – Golden Lung

Giant Sand and Rainer – The Inner Flame

Hello Phones – Drip

Joe Norkus – Call You Up

Late Lunch – Bohemian Groove

Miss Shevaughn & Yuma Wray – The River Made Me Do It

Oddience – Smile

Paul Banks – Summertime Is Coming

Post War Years – Glass House

The Sometime Boys – The Good People of Brooklyn

The Ten Thousand – Juneteenth

Trick Shooter Social Club – Powder Blue


The 1975 – The City

Dark Dark Dark – Tell Me

The-Drum – /SYS

Fang Island – Sisterly (Anamanaguchi Remix)

The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion – Black Mold