Instead of writing about some random music news item today, I think I’d like to to go a little more in depth on one particular track that I’m proud to feature as part of today’s Pick Your Poison. So let’s do that briefly with the new single from CHVRCHES called “Recover”. It’s available for streaming in the Soundcloud section (located after the jump). The song is the title track to the band’s forthcoming EP, set for release on March 26th in the U.S. As the band are members of my Class of 2013, I’m not only highlighting them for that reason but also because the song is really, really good. It’s a gorgeous slice of electro pop done in a dark and off-kilter style that puts it just an inch or two away from being immediately familiar. You’re compelled to like and enjoy this track, complete with its massive chorus, but you don’t fully understand why. That mystery is one of the keys to its brilliance. It stays relatively true to the comparisons with The Knife that CHVRCHES have been enjoying, though of course if you’ve heard The Knife’s latest single you know they’re in a class all their own in many respects. Still, “Recover” only pushes the idea further that this band is worthy of the attention being shoved onto them, and things will only get bigger in the next several months I suspect. But beyond CHVRCHES, there are other artists in today’s Pick Your Poison, and you might want to keep an eye on some of them as well. Notably, in this set there’s some great tracks from Hey Anna, Kristin Errett, LVL UP, New Ivory, Shy Mirrors and SKATERS. In the Soundcloud section, stream new stuff as well from araabMUZIK, Brendan Benson, Gun Outfit, and Rachel Zeffira, among others.

Big Chocolate – Blue Milk (Spacebrother Remix)

Body Parts – Rest While You Sleep

Computer Magic – Million Years (Flying Horse Remix)

Destruction Unit – Evil Man

Dizzy – Am I (ft. Ace Hood)

Hey Anna – Tiny Kiss

Joe Hertler & The Rainbow Seekers – Your Story (Live at the Russell)

Kristin Errett – Don’t Call Me Sweetheart

Lovelier Other – Leave This Behind

LVL UP – Graveyard

The March Divide – Jose Cuervo

New Ivory – Day By Day

Shy Mirrors – First Wave Out

SKATERS – I Wanna Dance (But I Don’t Know How)


araabMUZIK – The Prince Is Coming

Brendan Benson – Oh My Love

CHVRCHES – Recover

Gun Outfit – Flyin’ Low, Maria

Lust for Youth – Chasing the Light

Rachel Zeffira – The Deserters