On Wednesday Apple unveiled the iPhone 7, and with it changed the way we listen to audio. It’s set to be the first smartphone without a headphone jack. If you want to listen to music or your favorite podcast, you can use the upgraded external speakers, or connect with the new AirPod wireless headphones. The third option is to use a headphone adapter that connects via the lightning port. A few notes about this development. The AirPod headphones will cost $159 per pair, and can hold a charge for five hours. They’re also part of Apple’s plan to make their product indispensable by investing in technology that only works with their devices. Want to use your AirPods to listen to things NOT on an iPhone or iPad? Good luck. Are you great at keeping track of your stuff? No? I’m sure you won’t lose those two small AirPods the size of an M&M and be forced to buy a fresh pair. And of course as with all rechargeable devices, it’ll be fun to watch the AirPod maintain five hours of charge for the first year, then rapidly decline to half that amount for the second. Sounds like a blast. In case you couldn’t tell, I’m a bit angry over this development. If you’re a present or future iPhone user, you should be too. Maybe in five years we’ll look back and think about how silly this whole thing was. Maybe. Okay, let’s dive into today’s Pick Your Poison. Don’t miss downloads in this set from J Hacha De Zola (covering Ariana Grande), SilverLiners, Steel Cranes, Tim Hecker and Todd Tobias. In the Soundcloud section after the jump, stream songs from American Football, Baltra, Bo Rocha, Chrome Sparks (ft. Angelica Bess), Kelly Lee Owens, Mykki Blanco (ft. Jean Deaux), NOIA, Preoccupations (ft. Dan Boeckner), Punctual, SHEARE, Split Single and Swet Shop Boys.

Batuk – Vida (Fever Trails Remix)

J Hacha De Zola – Bad Decisions (Ariana Grande cover)

Mackaper – Rakt in i solen

SilverLiners – Just Ride

Steel Cranes – Ebb

Tim Hecker – Veil Scans

Todd Tobias – Pollen Path

Warning Light – Surviving the Buried Earth


American Football – Give Me the Gun

Baltra – Tears Drop (Hokkaido Dance Club)

Bo Rocha – Real Kids

Chrome Sparks – All or Nothing (ft. Angelica Bess)

Kelly Lee Owens – CBM

Mykki Blanco – Loner (ft. Jean Deaux)

NOIA – Nostalgia Del Futuro

Preoccupations – Memory (ft. Dan Boeckner)

Punctual – Eva

SHEARE – Restless

Split Single – Leave My Mind

Swet Shop Boys – Zayn Malik