Now that the presidential election has passed us by, and we’re in for another four years of President Obama, it’s time to focus on the many other false promises that have been made to us by musicians in recent memory. Chief among the broken promises for me has been My Bloody Valentine and their promise of a new album. Kevin Shields promised back in 2008 that the band was in the studio working on finishing up recording from a bunch of tracks left unfinished in the early 90s. The thinking was that even if the band took their sweet time, things would be ready for release in 2009 or 2010 at the latest. Well, it’s 2012 and the thought of new My Bloody Valentine material seems so far gone it’s easy to assume it’s never going to happen. But then today Shields sits down for a chat with NME during which he reveals that the plans are to have the new MBV album out online by the end of this year. For those of us counting, that deadline looms less than 60 days away. It’s one thing to say 2013, but entirely another to give such a tiny window. It makes the promise seem that much more believable. Still, I’ll believe it when it actually happens. Let’s all keep our fingers crossed. In the meantime, keep listening to new music and discovering new bands. That’s kind of what Pick Your Poison is all about. Please enjoy tracks today from ALexander Spit, Call Answer, Doldrums, Jacob Morris, The Parlour Suite and Todd Tobias. In the Soundcloud section there’s new stuff from Eels, The Internet and Sally Shapiro that are worth streaming.

Alexander Spit – Getaway Car (ft. Alchemist)

Blasé – Mouths

Borgeous & Taylor Bird – Serenity

Call Answer – Parks

Cruiser – Don’t Go Alone (Noah Hyde Remix)

Desert Crown – Black Water Black Sky

Doldrums – Egypt

A Girl I Know – Bang Bang Bang (Dirty Dave Remix)

Jacob Morris – Wet Cigarette

Jonti – Saturday Night

The Parlour Suite – We Belong Together

Todd Tobias – Crystal Palace People

The Traps – Moving Pictures (The Voluntary Butler Scheme Remix)

Wildlife Control – Analog or Digital (Bomb Coltrane Remix)


EELS – Peach Blossom

Hello Ocho – Stickin To The Sheets

The Internet – Give It Time

Love and Radiation – Ganymede

Sally Shapiro – What Can I Do

Wake Owl – Gold