Are you on a constant “Thom Yorke Watch”? That is to say, are you always hungry and looking for the latest happenings with Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke? If that’s not a priority for you, perhaps it should be. Even the most mundane things the man does are entertaining. Of course the problem is information pretty much only leaks out when he allows it to. He’ll post something on Dead Air Space or let a juicy tidbit slip in a rare interview. It’s radio silence otherwise. Well, today there was movement. As you may be aware, Yorke put out a solo album called The Eraser back in 2006. He never toured in support of it until a couple years ago. He recruited a band to help him perform the songs, the members of which included Flea from the Red Hot Chili Peppers and long time Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich. Because they were now a band and not just one man, they chose Atoms For Peace as their new name. There have been a couple Atoms For Peace songs released, but things have been pretty quiet for the last year or so. Word on the street is that the guys actually wrote and recorded an album together, but nothing was really official on that…until today. First iTunes listed a song by Atoms For Peace called “Default.” After people started to notice, Yorke posted about the song online. You can buy “Default” from iTunes on Monday. If you don’t want to wait that long to hear it, YouTube has you covered. Expect at 12″ vinyl version to come out next month, and a full length Atoms For Peace record next year, Yorke said. Does the new song get you excited? Personally I’ve yet to hear a bad song with Thom Yorke on it, so it’s a super easy sell for me. Beyond that new song though, there’s plenty more new stuff from people not named Thom Yorke. Today’s Pick Your Poison recommendations include tracks from The Album Leaf, Crooked Cowboy and the Freshwater Indians (with Becky Stark), Floating Action, Machine Birds, Psychobuildings and Red Wanting Blue. In the Soundcloud section you’ll also want to stream tracks from Field Music, of Montreal and The Postelles.

The Album Leaf – Descent

The Bohannons – Goodbye Bill

Crooked Cowboy and the Freshwater Indians – Bed Bugs (ft. Becky Stark)

Floating Action – Not What I Came For

Goldhouse – Everything

Holy Ghost Tent Revival – Alpha Dogs

Jason Karaban – Devil That I Know

Jonquil – Mexico

Los Jardines de Bruselas – Why Are We Here

Machine Birds – The Way It’s Meant to Be

Night Fruit – Human Touch

Private ft. Genasis – Everywhere (Its Overture Remix)

Psychobuildings – Hearts

Red Wanting Blue – Audition

Tara Simmons – Weekend of Hearts

The xx – Angels (Case & Point Bootleg)


Blood Command – Cult Of The New Beat

Field Music – If There Is Something

of Montreal – Sails, Hermaphroditic

The Postelles – Running Red Lights

Room Full of Strangers – Lets Build An Idol