When you watch as much television as I do, certain trends become blindingly apparent to you. Case in point, with the release of their new album “El Camino” this week, I’ve seen more Black Keys TV appearances than just about any other band in 2011. Sure, it’s a hot record that will likely reach #1 on the charts by this time next week, but there comes a point where it gets to be too much. From SNL to The Colbert Report to Letterman to a couple other shows, “Lonely Boy” and/or “Gold on the Ceiling” have been played at every one. Good for the band and their success, but I’m starting to get overwhelmed. So here’s a decidedly Black Keys-free edition of Pick Your Poison, as so many of them are. Tracks I’ll affix a gold star to today come from 813, Cass McCombs, Earthquake Party, Moist, Rocket From the Tombs and School of Seven Bells.

813 – Bluebirds

Autumn Owls – Pavor Nocturnus

Beaty Heart – Cola (Kid Kanevil Remix)

Cass McCombs – Bradley Manning

Cotton Mather – My Before and After

Earthquake Party – Pretty Little Hand

Fairewell – Born Under a Bad Sign (Echo Lake Remix)

Justice – Ohio (Mapuche Remix)

Krashkarma – Nightmare on Christmas

Lid Emba – Dusking

Mickey Moonlight – Close to Everything (The Martin Brothers Dub)

Moist – Hold On (ft. Sofie Norling)

Paul Brill – The Royal Oui

Rocket From the Tombs – Ain’t It Fun

School of Seven Bells – The Night

The Sutras – Call Out We’ll Find You

Wazu – Murder 1

Yeti Lane – Analog Wheel


Alex Winston – Everlasting Light (Black Keys cover)

Chomp – Done Waiting

ExDetectives – The Lawn